Tuesday, June 2, 2009

New releases

Elvis Costello - Secret, Profane and Sugarcane - Costello's new, predominantly-acoustic release is a collaboration with T-Bone Burnett recorded over a three-day session in Nashville. The album is currently streaming on http://www.elviscostello.com/.

Dave Matthews Band - Big Whiskey and the Groogrux King - Big Whiskey is the band's seventh studio album and the first since 2005's Stand Up. It also marks the band's first release since last year's death of saxophonist LeRoi Moore.

Rancid - Let the Domiones Fall - The band's seventh full-length includes the first single "Last One to Die" and can be heard in its entirety on their MySpace site.

311 - Uplifter - The band's ninth studio album is their first in four years, and includes bonus tracks and a bonus DVD. It was produced by Bob Rock (Metallica, Bon Jovi, Mötley Crüe) and includes the single "Hey You."

Jeff Buckley - Grace - Around the World (CD/DVD) - More than a decade after his death, this release pays tribute to Buckley and his acclaimed sole LP Grace with a collection of previously-unreleased live performances. The set is also available in a deluxe edition that includes a documentary DVD.

Chicago artists:

Go Time! - Speak - The band's debut LP is full of "Melodic power pop with hard rocking rave outs." Get it here.

Lily Schaffer - Lemonade - The debut album by the local singer-songwriter is full of clever lyrics and pop hooks reminiscent of Aimee Mann and Liz Phair. Read a full review here and pick it up here.

No comments:

Post a Comment