Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Helicopters: CD release and free show May 5

Local electro-tinged indie pop band Helicopters are releasing a special "Digital Bonus Version" of their latest record, Sizing up the Distance (reviewed here), and to celebrate are set to play a free release show Tuesday, May 5 at Double Door.

The LP, first released last year, has received positive reviews from both local and national press, with comparisons to indie pop heavyweights such as Postal Service, The Shins and Death Cab for Cutie. The new release will include the original album's 11 tracks in addition to a code to download six bonus cuts via the band's site. Here's the full track listing:

Sizing Up the Distance Track Listing:
01. Emergency
02. Getting Out of Town
03. Iran
04. Scraps of Bread
05. Headlights
06. White Lilly No Soul
07. Still Silhouettes
08. Harder Than You Think
09. More! Again!
10. Restless Minds
11. This Is the Bookend

Bonus Tracks:
01. This is the Bookend (acoustic)
02. Scraps of Bread (alternate take)
03. You’ve Got the Plan (original demo)
04. White Lily No Soul (a.catalyst remix)
05. Emergency (AlbinoRed remix)
06. Emergency (cmd-C/cmd-V remix)

The May 5 show will also feature Love In October, Save Pointe and Bob Nanna & Lauren Lo. Doors open at 7 and the show starts at 8.

No comments:

Post a Comment